GSoC, CloudSync, moving from Firefox, Phonon release

So, I’m participating in GSoC this year as a student, working on ownCloud, or more precisely using ownCloud in desktop applications.
Firstly we need to expand the OCS (OpenCollaborationServices) API to handle private key/value-storage for individual users, and then implement support for using this API in libattica. OCS and libattica already has support for notifications from the server to the clients, to easily synchronise all clients when some setting or data is updated.
The only non-trivial problem to solve is of how to handle deletions, especially when some client was disconnected when the deletion was pushed to the server, but I timestamping all items should solve this (if an item doesn’t exist on the server, and hasn’t been updated locally since last synchronization, discard the local one).

Then, when this is working and tested, I intend to write an Akonadi bookmarks resource using libattica for storage, so that we can easily synchronize several sources of bookmarks (there is a del.icio.us resource in playground already, for example). I also want to integrate (optional) support for this in KWalletManager, or maybe in a separate application. Lastly I think synchronization support in the note-taking application Basket would be neat. If someone has good ideas for other applications that could enjoy some cloudifying, please comment, and I’ll look into it, and see if it is easy/feasible in the time I have.

Another thing I started on after a couple of glasses of wine, in a hotel room in Tokyo, was something tentatively called CloudSync, which I intended as a Dropbox/Ubuntu One “killer”, only that it didn’t rely on a proprietary webservice, it only needed something that had a kio-slave (like webdav/owncloud, smb, nfs, sftp, etc.). It’s not usable yet (and relies on some KIO behaviour from KDE 4.5), and the code is close to what I would call a proof-of-concept and generally a mess (I blame the wine). But some students got in contact because they wanted to work on something similar as a SoK-project, so maybe something will pop up there (or I will get bored one evening and finish my app and clean it up).

Also, I’ve been using Firefox for a while now (mostly because of Mozilla Weave, since I’ve been using a lot of different machines, and I suck at remembering stuff). And since I like eating my own dogfood (yum-yum), I thought I’d switch back to Konqueror for a while (or maybe try rekonq since everyone keep raving on about it). But I still suck at remembering stuff, so I wrote a small utility to automagically export all my credentials from Firefox’ password storage. The only problems is that there are ~4% of my passwords that it is unable to decrypt (and I can’t say I enjoy working with NSS, to be honest, and therefore I’m tired of debugging that part of the code), and that Firefox doesn’t store the name of the form the username/password fields belong to, which KHTML/kdewebkit uses as a key to store the credentials under. So I enganged Mr. KHTML (Maksim), and hopefully KHTML in the future will fall back to using the credentials imported from Firefox (and probably kdewebkit too, if someone fixes it).

And finally we just released a new version of Phonon (4.4.2), not much to be excited about, it’s a bug-fix release.
And it seems like the GSoC students working on Phonon are well under way, very exciting stuff. :-D

So, to apologize for the unreasonably long entry, here’s a funny and cute kitten:
I'm not addicted to caffeine, I just need it to function

9 thoughts on “GSoC, CloudSync, moving from Firefox, Phonon release

      1. Yes.. I tried to bring it to the attention of all parties. Noone has pursued it. A major problem but not a showstopper…

        Unfortuately the end result of it all is that, for most people, out of the box, KDE can’t play .wav files.

        As another said, I switched to gstreamer backend.

  1. Let’s fight instead for a bugless GStreamer backend. I’ve found that always when I am in GNOME I need to use a KDE prog, and vice versa. If I use Xine, VLC, or whatever-backend, I have 2 players to babysit and care about, one for GNOME, and the other for KDE. If I have GStreamer-backend working, I only worry about GStreamer.

    1. Feel free to use it, but I won’t work on it. The GStreamer API is not something I want to spend my spare-time fighting with, when there are better documented and saner alternatives.

      1. I hear the GStreamer developers are working toward a 1.0 release sometime in the near future. As I recall, they are trying to make the API better; maybe the Phonon developers should get on their case about documentation, too? I must say that I like GStreamer’s flexibility and modularity, and for that reason, I would like to see it get broader adoption. Still, I will be happy with any Phonon backend that plays all of my music properly. I have a few FLAC files that the Xine backend doesn’t like.

  2. Maybe an akonadi resource for google docs so Koffice could use it… maybe can be used by Basket too.
    Just a thought

    Thank you for the exiting news!

  3. “If someone has good ideas for other applications that could enjoy some cloudifying, please comment”
    – Akregator, for syncing feeds. Which feeds are read, when using akregator on multiple machines. What do you think about that ?
    PS there is already an idea on kde brainstorm for syncing akregator

  4. I agree with Jun that connecting KOffice with google docs sounds like a great idea :)

Leave a Reply

